Home > family > when kids pray

when kids pray

October 30, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I love listening to kids talk to God. Especially ones who haven’t “learned” how to do it from someone who makes talking to God a formulaic laundry list of things to get through and move on. Last Sunday AM at Bridgeway we had an “intergenerational” service where the kids were encouraged to be involved in every part of the gathering and many of the elements were geared to include them. Not that things were reduced to their level necessarily – just that the assumption was made that kids can do what adults do in worship. Good assumption by the way. And a great service.
So I got to spend the morning with my oldest three listening to them pray. And I spent a good deal of the time close to tears. When we had a choice of 10 different things to pray for – they wanted to pray for the poor. And they did. Beautiful, simple prayers asking God to care and provide for people who don’t have what they need to survive. Later we were supposed to pray for friends that need Jesus to do something in their lives. The kids had a hard time thinking of people, so Hannah asked me if I knew anyone. Then she prayed for my friends. I’m tearing up again now thinking about it.
Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3-4) My kids taught me a lot about what that looks like last Sunday.

Categories: family Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

