Home > Books, quote > quote o’ the week – Margaret Atwood

quote o’ the week – Margaret Atwood

December 13, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

From The Handmaid’s Tail – good book by the way

” When I get out of here, if I’m ever able to set this down, in any form, even in the form of one voice to another, it will be a reconstruction then too, at yet another remove. It’s impossible to say a thing exactly the way it was, because what you say can never be exact, you always have to leave something out, there are too many parts, sides, crosscurrents, nuances; too many gestures, which could mean this or that, too may shapes which can never be fully described, too many flavors, in the air or on the tongue, half-colors, too many. ” (p.134)

I think part of what drew me to this quote is the parallel I see with the story of God as it unfolds in the Bible. There are so many gaps I wish were filled in. So many expressions I wish I could see. So many conversations I wish I could hear.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

