Home > Books, else, films, sports, top five > five pieces of random goodness in my world

five pieces of random goodness in my world

Just some random things that have been greatly enjoyed over the last week or so.

Film – saw Juno tonight. Incredibly good. Every performance was spot on and I especially can;t say enough about Ellen Page and J.K. Simmons. If you haven’t seen it – you should.

DVD – King of California. Another movie with incredible performances. Michael Douglas at his best. Hilarious and at the same time a movie that really has something to say about suburban existence.

Books – Thanks to my trip to Vegas I got to read Into the Wild and Earth Abides last week. I love it when I have time to read and find great stuff with which to fill that time. Earth Abides is another in my way too long string of apocalyptic novels.

TV – While I didn’t send any peanuts to CBS, I am a fan of Jericho. I caught the first season on the internet this summer and while it had some incredibly cheesy moments, something kept me watching. I’m glad I did. With only a handful of episodes to tell it’s story, the show has really tightened up and has great pacing and storytelling this time around. If you haven’t been watching, check out season 1 on DVD and the season’s episodes at cbs.com

Hoop – It’s tourney time and I spent a good part of the day in the big chair watching teams I care nothing about play basketball because that’s what you do  on the first day of the tournament. And I plan to do it for the second day as well.

Ah the joy of simple things.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

