Home > burbs, family, sustainability, Uncategorized > our small attempt to save the planet

our small attempt to save the planet

I posted a while back about suffering from “ecoanxiety” – the fear that I’m not doing enough to reduce my family’s ecological footprint. While we still aren’t ready to move to the Dancing Rabbit Ecovillage, we’re taking our baby steps to do what we can where we are. So what are we doing?

  • Almost every bulb in the house now is a compact fluorescent. Not perfect, but better.
  • I have become an absolute Nazi about turning off lights. The kids are learning.
  • We bought the reusable shopping bags. And it isn’t too bad. I’m also trying to remember to decline the bag if I only have a couple of items that I can carry out in my hands.
  • Still struggling with leaving things plugged in, but the phone and ipod chargers get unplugged as soon as they are done.
  • Thermostats stay at 72 in the summer. Usually around 66 in the winter.
  • Whenever possible we take the smaller, more fuel-efficient car.
  • We’re recycling everything we can think of.

It isn’t a ton in light of what we could be doing and my anxiety is only slightly lessened by what we’ve done, but it’s a start – right?

  1. May 30, 2008 at 12:30 am

    You sound just like me. I think we’ve done just about all the same things. Although my wife is terrible about turing off lights, I refuse to leave the house until they’re all turned off. Sometimes this means following behind my wife and turing things off twice! My problem with the bags is remembering to take them with me in the first place. Very nice photo though.

  2. May 30, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Thanks for the comment. Maybe one day I’ll own a hybrid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

